Which presidents have won the Nobel Prize?

Four presidents and one vice president have won the Nobel Prize.  Alfred Nobel established the Nobel Peace Prize for individuals who have “done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses.”

Theodore Roosevelt

Teddy Roosevelt won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1906 for his work in ending the Russo-Japanese War.  TR was the first American to win the prize.

Woodrow Wilson

In 1920, Woodrow Wilson won the Nobel Peace Prize for his work in ending World War I and in creating the League of Nations.

Jimmy Carter

Jimmy Carter won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2002 for his “peaceful solutions to international conflicts, advancing democracy and human rights, and promoting economic and social development.”

Barack Obama

In 2009, Barack Obama won the Nobel Peace Prize early in his first term.  He received the prize for his work in fostering international cooperation.

Al Gore

Al Gore is the only vice president to win the Nobel Peace Prize.  Gore won the prize in 2007 for his efforts as a climate change leader.  

Further Reading

The Nobel Peace Prize

The White House Archives